Choosing between La Marzocco GS3 MP and Decent Espresso DE1XXL

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
clokwork

#1: Post by clokwork »

Hello, I understand the 2 machines are quite different. I am a newbie by comparison to most here. I have been a manual lever guy looking to add to the hobby. What drew me to the LM GS3 MP is the heritage, the aesthetics, reliability (I hope), and the conical valve. The Decent is a totally different beast where the customizations of your espresso are nearly endless.

I mostly use medium roasts beans, but don't want to rule out light roasts in the future. I am currently using a Niche, but plan on adding a P64 (undecided on burrs) with the purchase of a new espresso machine to add the possibility of clarity to my shots.

I don't know how much information to add without blabbing on. One factor I am having a hard time deciding on is how I want to pull the shots. Do I Want to feel like I am part of the process with the LM or am I fine with doing all of the "math" ahead of time and letting the Decent do its thing.

Some other factors that are high priority are:
- Not difficult to maintain
- Good reliability
- Not obnoxiously loud (I've had no interaction with either machine)

Lower Priority:
- Water reservoir isn't a pain to get to (while I hope to work on plumbing)

Please let me know if I am missing vital info to provide. I've been lurking for a little while and am happy to be here.

Ad-85

#2: Post by Ad-85 »

Best part of making your coffee is walking to the machine and using it (even looking at it is a pleasure). Your decision should be based on that.
LMWDB #691

clokwork (original poster)

#3: Post by clokwork (original poster) »

That hits me in the feels :D

First thing I thought of hearing that was the LM. I still need to read more into the reliability, longevity, and maintenance.

tompoland

#4: Post by tompoland »