Iced Coffee

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
ex trahere

#1: Post by ex trahere »

So I have been making cold brew for the last three years or so. I have changed methods over time, but have ultimately settled on a cold immersion followed by a cloth filtration.

I generally don't make cold coffee until summer, but it was in the eighties last week, which prompted me to make a few batches. I made some of Barrington Coffee's Perla Negra from Costa Rica, as well as Wrecking Ball's Rwanda Rulindo Tumba. Both were amazing as a multitude of brew methods, but as cold brew they really shined.

Anyways, this in conjunction with the new brewing section got me wondering about others ice coffee habits/preferences. Got a favorite method? Or do you just not care for it?

Here is a post from Jamie running through iced coffee methods commonly used today.

http://blog.barismo.com/2011/08/iced-coffee.html
A posse ad esse

the_trystero

#2: Post by the_trystero »

I do cold brew for bulk convenience with inexpensive beans in the summer. But after doing a lot of blind tastings amongst beans of similar roast profile I stopped using expensive beans, they all end up tasting the same. This is with the basic toddy system.

For personal iced coffee with nice beans I've been doing the Aeropress over ice.
"A screaming comes across the sky..." - Thomas Pynchon

jonny

#3: Post by jonny »