V60 and extraction variables

Coffee preparation techniques besides espresso like pourover.
mixespresso

#1: Post by mixespresso »

I am relatively new to V60. I started using only Hoffman's recipe assuming that that was all I needed.. but as I expand and try other recipes I discover that there are many more variables in the recipes that affect the brew.

Apart from the expected:
- water temperature
- grinder settings

... the following variables appear to significantly affect the amount extraction:
- the height of your pour: how aggressive you pour and disturb the coffee bed
- the number of pours: 5 extracts more than 3 for example
- full pours instead of topping up with water "unfinished pours". i.e: letting all the water out before pouring more water onto the filter

Would you agree? I am missing something else?

Thanks

Dav

#2: Post by Dav »

I've found water recipe/hardness to have a very large impact on the final cup

In addition to yours and the above, you also have (in no particular order):
bloom time
roast level
days off roast
burr alignment
v60 material (IE glass, plastic, ceramic)
filter material
filter position (resting on fins, stuck to the sides)

I'm sure I'm forgetting a few more...it's a rabbit hole.

mixespresso (original poster)

#3: Post by mixespresso (original poster) »

Thanks, Dav! Yes, I agree, all those variables will also have a deep influence on the final flavour

I guess what I meant was that, assuming you have chosen your desired coffee and V60 equipment.. what would the main variables be to influence the amount of extraction.

Cheers

bobR

#4: Post by bobR »