Rocket Appartamento after Elektra Microcasa a Leva

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
gania13

#1: Post by gania13 »

Hi everyone
I recently replaced my Elektra micro casa a leva with Rocket Appartamento and have a couple of questions:

1. I've seen online that the factory setting for brew pressure is approx 13-14 bar, what's the logic behind that? I'm sure Rocket know what they're doing, so why some people say that you should adjust the OPV to 9 bar?

2. I have a Ceado E37s, does it make sense that I need to grind finer for the rocket than I did for the Elektra? I always thought that lever machines are much more finicky with grind size.

3. Are there any "must have" upgrades I should do to optimize the experience? I'm new to E61

achosid

#2: Post by achosid »

I checked brew pressure on my Appartamento based on the "overly high pressure" claims I've seen around. Mine was running right at 9 bars.

The only "Must Have" as far as I'm concerned is a grouphead thermometer.

dfuller

#3: Post by dfuller »

gania13 wrote:Hi everyone
I recently replaced my Elektra micro casa a leva with Rocket Appartamento and have a couple of questions:

1. I've seen online that the factory setting for brew pressure is approx 13-14 bar, what's the logic behind that? I'm sure Rocket know what they're doing, so why some people say that you should adjust the OPV to 9 bar?
The problem is you end up with 12-13 bars at the group in operation, for some reason. I have no idea why they set it that high, but they shouldn't.
2. I have a Ceado E37s, does it make sense that I need to grind finer for the rocket than I did for the Elektra? I always thought that lever machines are much more finicky with grind size.