Coffee Processing Chats

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
aidabatlle
Sponsor

#1: Post by aidabatlle »

I am a 5th generation coffee producer from El Salvador and was wondering what are everyone's thoughts on roasting different coffee processes. What is your favorite style? Do you enjoy the modern innovative processes? Do you treat different processes differently when brewing or roasting? What things do you love to try?

My focus has always been in offering different innovative processes of the highest quality that I can so that the different flavors/attributes can be highlighted. So, I want to start a bit of a discussion, both to help me understand what the "end user" is getting out of my coffee, but also to help you all answer any burning questions you may have. I only get to roast samples, so this would be fascinating for me!
★ Helpful

Chert

#2: Post by Chert »

This turns out to be a really big topic, doesn't it? For me as a hobbyist roaster, I can answer pretty quickly because I don't know that much.

No longer is coffee processed just washed, natural, pulped natural or monsooned but there are multiple different processes that I can't very well confidently describe or even name. So you have helped me find something to look into a bit. And some roasters go on to store beans in whiskey barrels for that type of innovation.

What is my favorite style? I don't like what I've had in the barrel storage arena, but otherwise I am interested in any processing style. This year natural processed coffee are making me quite pleased with espresso and cappuccino, mostly blended. I think that some natural processed retains a pleasing winey or whiskey barrel character but the barrel storage method introduces it to a degree I don't like.
LMWDP #198
★ Helpful

Advertisement
aidabatlle (original poster)
Sponsor

#3: Post by aidabatlle (original poster) »