1974 Nuova Simonelli Commercial Lever Project

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
2StrokeBloke

#1: Post by 2StrokeBloke »

First project of the New Year!
I picked up this old Nuova Simonelli single group a while ago and wanted to start it! I've never worked on a commercial lever machine before but it can't be that hard, right?

This is what I think is a 1974 lever machine. Available info on the web about this model is pretty much nothing. You can find later model NS levers, called 'Elle', or 'Mac Elle' but most of them have the groups hidden behind metal. I've personally seen people selling these single group machines, and I've seen a two group exactly like mine..same red side panels, same angled rear metal. Each one of them has the same data plate as mine, with no model name mentioned, just the 1974 date on it.

My machine was purchased in Grande Prarie, Alberta sight unseen, and I had a friend pick it up, tear it down into smaller pieces and mail it to me. This is why the first photos you will see of it are in it's disassembled state.

Here it is as delivered! Please note that it is complete, just not in this photo.

The adventure starts.

Tom@Steve'sEspresso

#2: Post by Tom@Steve'sEspresso »

Nice! I think NS levers are even more rare than Carimali .
As always, take your time and keep posting if you need help. I would imagine that parts ought to be easily found, given the ease of which I had with my Carimali, and others here with much older levers as well.
Happy new year, have fun, and welcome to leverland!
LMWDP #222
Live graciously
Be kind
Have fun

2StrokeBloke (original poster)

#3: Post by 2StrokeBloke (original poster) »

Here's a shot of the front/side.
It's cool how you can guestimate age of the equipment by the shape of the machine..soft curves for the early machines up to the 70's, very angular 70's, cover the group head 80's and wonderful stainless steel modern stuff. I wonder where the next generation is going?