Shots suddenly started blowing out

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Benos

#1: Post by Benos »

I put this up in case it helps anyone with this issue.

Equipment: ECM Synchronika w/flow control / Baratza Forte.

I've been at home espresso for 15 years, and I am a freak-show in the quality control, consistency department.

Starting suddenly, for the last couple months, most of the shots are blowing out. Watching the bottomless portafilter, the shots that don't totally blow out look like they are struggling not to.

I've been using the same roasted beans for the last 10 years, which I get from a local roaster, so the beans are always fairly fresh.

And this is interesting, although I can't see how it is related. Right about when the shots starting blowing, I began home roasting. Most home roasted shots were blowing out... so I thought the blowouts were related to not having the roasting process dialed in. But when I pulled shots with the roasted beans I have been buying for years, they blew out equally.

I keep the pressure on the machine, with a blind portafilter, real close to 10 bars. Which is where it was when I got the ECM, and for the first 6 months, or so, to when the shots started blowing out, I was pulling the most consistent, tastiest shots ever.

I backflush at the end of each day, and at the first of each month clean the grinder with Cafiza.

By now I have every process of the grinding / packing / shot pulling process down to a science, and I have not changed anything in many months. So why shots are now blowing out is a mystery.

On a whim, I decided to recalibrate the Forte. Turns out the 2mm recalibration screw-and I'm guessing whatever it is attached to-is missing. I've made several repairs to that grinder over the years, so I ordered a new one, a Compak K3 Touch.