Starbucks blonde espresso vs Breville Barista Pro

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Coffefe_man

#1: Post by Coffefe_man »

I am a newbie trying to get more into the world of espresso. I recently purchased a breville barista pro and am having trouble dialing in that specific bean. Ive used grind settings 5-9. 5 choked the machine, 8 came out really bitter/muddy. I have increased the temperature but got the same result. Can anyone give me any tips for how to dial in the bean? Or have settings that work for my set up? Thank you! Btw i am using the stock tamper and am shooting for a 1:2 ratio 15-18g for 30-36g.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

What espresso have you had that you enjoy?

There are a few things about coffee for espresso that are worth thinking about. One is freshness. For classic espresso, over a couple weeks from roast is already on the down side. "Best by" is best left on the shelf. Look for a roast date instead.

Roast level is another. In many cases, the darker the roast, the more chocolate and nuts flavors. They're often from the roasting, not the beans. Like roasting nuts, they're good to a point, but go to far and you get into bitter, charred, burnt, ashy, ...

Starbucks "Blonde" is actually a medium-dark to dark roast. You might find a flavor balance you enjoy more in some freshly roasted beans, either local or from one of the great roasters that ships. There are many suggestions in threads in the Coffee section under "comfort", or "easy" espresso. Good Italian espresso is very classic, which some people enjoy very much, especially in milk drinks. For others it can be more bitter than they prefer. Like chocolate, there's a range from milk though baker's and people who enjoy their spot in the bitter/sweet balance. I'd suggest something in the middle to start with, then exploring.

klee11mtl

#3: Post by klee11mtl »